The quality and consistency of teaching is exceptional as well-qualified practitioners have an excellent knowledge of how children learn. Ofsted
Kawaii Boy-03.png

We are a passionate team of early years educators here at the Rocket and take huge pleasure in watching our children grow, thrive and succeed. We collectively have many years experience in working with children and understand how important it is to help children foster a love and thirst for learning that will endure their whole life. Fundamental to this is ensuring that children enjoy their learning and crucially enjoy the process of learning. We use playful teaching and establish play based learning environments to ensure children enjoy and engage with their learning. We carefully plan the learning environment to support children's play and exploration in and out of doors based upon our knowledge and understanding of each child; their individual needs, interests and learning styles. We use information from observation and assessment to plan personalised support for every child and ensure that they achieve as much as they can. We provide a balance of both adult led and child led activities that help children to think critically, play and explore and be active and creative learners. We have high expectations for children and enthuse and motivate them by offering a huge variety of activities daily including:

  • ICT
  • Stories
  • Puppets
  • Musical Instruments
  • Treasure Baskets
  • Heuristic Play
  • Junk Modelling
  • Sand and Water
  • Messy Play
  • Construction
  • Small World
  • Role Play
  • Mark Making
  • Painting
Practitioners encourage exploration, imagination and autonomous play and independence in an exciting and motivating environment. Ofsted



We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage, an educational framework set out by the Department for Education detailing standards that all Early Years providers should meet. There are two sets of standards; Safeguarding standards and Learning and Development standards. 

The Learning and Developmental standards are divided into seven Areas of Learning. These include:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

These Areas of Learning are further divided into two sub sections; Prime Areas of Learning and Specific Areas of Learning. The Prime Areas of learning are: Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Communication and Language and Physical Development. These areas of learning are fundamental and focus on developing core skills that support development in all other areas of learning. As such, the Prime Areas of Learning are the primary focus for the younger end of the nursery although not the exclusive focus. The Specific Ares of learning are: Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design. These areas of learning include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society and are a greater focus for the older end of the nursery alongside the Prime Areas of learning. 

The EYFS also gives guidance on how to help children develop what it calls, the Characteristics of Effective Learning; the ways in which children engage with other people and their environment and ultimately learn. There are three such characteristics:

  • Playing and Exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Creating and Thinking Critically

These characteristics underpin all learning and development and enable children to become effective motivated learners. Through playful teaching and establishing exciting learning environments, we support development of these characteristics.